Tue, 14 Jul, 2020

Drunken group attacks police at Cuncolim, damage vehicles

Four cops hurt ,Two arrested, manhunt launched to nab 5 others

15th January 2020, 02:01 Hrs

the goan I network


Four police constables attached to the Cuncolim police station were injured when they were attacked by a group of youth, who were allegedly consuming alcohol along the road late Monday night.  

Two police vehicles were also damaged in the incident, while the third vehicle suffered minor damage.  

Police have arrested two persons and have launched a manhunt to arrest the remaining five, all from Cuncolim.  

Margao Sub-divisional Police Officer, DySP Serafino Dias told the media on Tuesday that the incident occurred late Monday night when the Cuncolim police received a call from members of the public that nuisance was being created a group of youngsters reportedly drinking on the road. “Immediately after receipt of information, the police station diverted our vehicles, including a Highway Patrol to the spot. The team of two constables from the highway patrol vehicle, which reached first at the spot, questioned the group of around seven youngsters to move way, but the duo were attacked”, he said.   

DySP Serafino further said when the second police vehicle reached the spot, and were in the process of taking two of the youngsters to the police station, the personnel as well as the vehicles were attacked again. “They damaged two vehicles, the rear windscreen of one of the vehicles was broken. The constables also sustained injuries in the fight”, he said, adding that the police managed to bring two of the youngsters to the police station.   

He said the Cuncolim police has arrested two persons, Mayur Desai and Shaikh Abdul Razak under section 353 of the IPC for obstructing government servants from discharging duties and under the provisions of Damage to Public Property Act. He further said the police are on the look out for the remaining persons -- Sandip Desai, Santosh Naik, Susham Borkar, Saresh Desai and Swapnesh Desai.   

The names of the injured police constables were provided as Sanjay Gaonkar, Akash Gaonkar, Pramod Kotalkar and Mahesh Naik.   

The Cuncolim police is investigating.