Thu, 13 Aug, 2020

Goa to host senior national badminton

13th January 2020, 04:06 Hrs

the goan I network


Goa Badminton Association (GBA) will play hosts to the Yonex Sunrise All India Senior Ranking Badminton Tournament 2020, in the categories of men and women. Several top badminton players, many of who have represented India at different International events, will be seen in action in this championship which will be held from January 14 to 19, 2020 at multipurpose stadium, Peddem.  

The event is being held under the aegis of Badminton Association of India (BAI). Some of the best India players who will vie for top honours are Ansal Yadav, Bodhit Joshi, Siril Varma, Kiran George, Aakarshi Kashyap, Malvika Bansod, Ashmita Chaliha, Anura Prabhu Desai, Krishna Prasad G., Shlok Ramchandran, Dhruv Kapila and Arjun M. R. along with others. Tanisha Crasto, Pranjal Chimulkar, Lydia Barreto and Arjun Fallary are some of Goa’s rising star players who will look to put up a good show.   

Matches will be held in the categories of Men’s singles, Men’s doubles, Women’s Singles, Women’s Doubles and Mixed doubles. In all, there will be more than 1100 shuttlers from 35 States, Union Territories and other member units who will converge to Goa to compete in the championship.  

“Goa last hosted a National level tournament in Senior category way back in 2008, the 72nd Senior National Badminton championship at the indoor complex Campal. Though not the Senior Nationals, this All India Senior Ranking tournament is a significant event, being selection tournament for the prestigious Badminton Asia Team championships 2020 to be held in Malaysia in February. This championship will be a good exposure to our players and a colourful display of games to the spectators,” stated GBA President Narahar Thakur in the GBA press release to the media.  

There are around 40 technical officials who have been nominated from various parts of India to conduct the championship. BAI has nominated Gujarat’s Vinod Shah as the Chief Tournament Referee while Rajasthan’s Chandrakant Sharma shall be his deputy. On 14th and 15th January, there will be qualifying rounds, followed by the Main Draw which commences on 16th. Finals will be played on the 19th. The championship carries total prize money of Rs 5 lakhs while the estimated budget of the whole event is Rs 25 lakhs. Yonex Sunrise and Fomento Group are the major sponsors of the championship while Sports Authority of Goa (SAG) has provided good organisational support.   

GBA invites all present and former badminton players and fans to witness India’s best talents in action during the championship.