Wed, 12 Aug, 2020

Mandar, Swera win State U-19 chess titles

22nd August 2019, 02:59 Hrs

the goan I network


Mandar Lad of Bardez Taluka clinched the all-Goa U-19 Juniors State Chess title after he beat Alex Sequeira to score 7.5 points from possible 8 rounds and remain unbeaten throughout the tournament. 

Earlier in the fifth round, Mandar held top seed Parth Salvi for a draw and both went on to win the remaining rounds and were contestants for the title but Parth was pushed down to the runners-up position after Aysh Pednekar held him for a draw. Joy Kakodkar finished on the third position with 6 points after he drew with Saish Fondekar in the last round. Thorat Sanjay beat Amanat Ali to secure the fourth position and Pednekar Ayush had to settle on the fifth position. 

Meanwhile in the girls category, WCM Swera Braganza who was in sole lead until the penultimate round and required just half a point to retain her title, drew against Shweta Sahakari to take the title away for a second consecutive year. She scored 5.5 from 6 rounds and remained unbeaten through the tournament. Shweta Sahakari finished on the second spot with 

5 points.

On the second board, Shourya Pednekar also with 5 points beat Shree Ghonsekar but had to settle on the third position due to lower tie break score. Tanvi Hadkonkar beat Gawas Sani on the third board to secure the fourth position and Asmita Ray beat Kimaya Naik Borkar and remained on the fifth position in the roster.

Top four players in both the categories will represent Goa for nationals to be held at Jaipur, Rajasthan from November 2 to 10. The tournament attracted a total number of 97 players out of which 27 were FIDE rated players. The tournament was organized by Mormugao Taluka Chess Association under the aegis of Goa Chess Association and Sports Authority of Goa at the RCC Chess Centre, Tilak Maidan, Vasco from August 16-18. 

Age category prizes: Best U-7 boys: 1. Erwin Albuquerque, 2. Sairaj Narvekar; Girls: 1. Jensina Sequiera, 2. Tanisha Naik Dessai, U-9: 1.Piyush Narvekar, 2. Prabhu Varad; Girls: 1. Jennica Sequeira, 2. Tanaiha Da Silva, U-11: 1. Kakodkar Joy, 2. Vicente Fernandes; Girls: 1.Shree Ghonsekar, 2. Arya Dabholkar, U-13: 1. Alex Sequeira, 2. Utkarsh Ganpule; Girls: 1. Sani Gawas, 2. Pushti Bhosle; Mormugao Taluka best players: U-7 boys: 1. Rajveer Patil, 2. Daksh Redkar, U-9 boys: 1. Aarav Chopdekar, 2. Keith Albuquerque; Girls: 1. Sayyed Maizah, 2. Pavitra Linsugur, U-11 boys: 1. Ali Amanat, 2. Aditya Tari; Girls: Valanka Fernandes, 2. Sayyed Mahdiya, U-13: 1. Ruthvik Raikar, 2. Skandhaj Kotha; Girls: 1. Yashasvi Kadam, 2. Khan Samayara.