Fri, 19 Apr, 2019

Salgaocar stun ONGC to enter AWES Cup final

13th September 2018, 07:10 Hrs

the goan I network


A youthful Salgaocar FC continued with their superb showing as they  defeated ONGC 4-2 via tie-breaker to enter the final of the AWES Cup,  organised by the Association for the Wellbeing of 

Elder Sportspersons  in collaboration with the Sports 

Authority of Goa (SAG) at Tilak Maidan,  Vasco on 


Salgaocar will now face Sporting Clube de Goa in the final on Saturday at 6:30 pm.

After  both teams failed to break the deadlock in the first 45 minutes,  Salgaocar took the lead through Devendra Murgaonkar in the 58th minute.  

Salgaocar believed they would win in regulation time, only for Ghanaian  striker Enock Cudjoe to score the equaliser in the 84th minute. As the score was 1-1 in regulation time, the result was decided via tie-breaker.

In  the ensuing tie-breaker, Mackroy Peixoto, Sanson Pereira, Selwyn Miranda and  Denil Rebello scored for Salgaocar while ONGC 

fumbled after Harkirat  Singh had converted the first spot-kick. 

Salgaocar goalkeeper Jaison  D’Mello made two consecutive saves to stop the  attempts of F Lalwuanpuia and Nitesh Monda to give Salgaocar the win.

Salgaocar,  who have decided to have a young team this season, did not seem to 

be  overawed with the opposition who had two foreign players in their ranks  and had won all three of their matches in the group stage.

The  youthful side used their speed to good effect and pushed their  opponents on the back foot early in the game. 

They enjoyed the edge and  were unlucky not to move ahead as Devendra missed in a one-on-one  situation with the goalkeeper and Mackroy’s shot was fisted over by  goalkeeper Bilifang Narzary. 

Salgaocar  continued to attack with Ronaldo Oliveira going close and then Devendra  saw his attempt being blocked by the goalkeeper. 

Salgaocar  finally broke the deadlock in the 58th minute when Sanson Pereira’s  free-kick saw the keeper fumble and Devendra pounced on the opportunity. 

With  time fast running out, ONGC pressed hard for the equaliser and were  successful in the 84th minute when Ghanaian striker Enock Cudjoe headed a  corner from Jagdeep Singh straight into the goal.

In the tie-breaker that 

followed, Salgaocar kept their cool and sealed their place in the final.