Monday, 25 June, 2018
   District and Sessions Court Judge directs the state today not to arrest Claude Alvares and Rahul Basu till the next hearing date and matter on bail is decided in locking Department of Mines office.   Report on corruption in sports dept submitted   Family of 9-yr old struggling to pay ` 3 lakh hospital bill   Politicians cash in on Sao Joao celebrations in Salcete   Suspend Market Inspector, or face dharna: CMC councillors

Double crown for Floyd, Rudra, Supriya in badminton

14th June 2018, 02:32 Hrs

the goan I network


Floyd Araujo, Supriya Kuchelkar and Rudra Dukle, all emerged double crown winners at the 1st Goa Badminton Convention organised by Mapusa Shuttlers and Panjim Smashers Club in collaboration with Goa Badminton Association and the Sports Authority of Goa.

Rudra Phadte, Yash Halarnkar, Suresh Pujari, Fredrick Fernandes, Vrushali Cardoso, Deepak Bhanushali and Pooja Raipurkar won various titles. Raj Kumar Yadav, SP, Suresh Kumar, Yoga coach, Dr Deepak Mayekar, Geologist (Dept of Mines and Geology), Hilary Fernandes, organising members Sandeep Heble (GBA Secretary) and Rahul Chandrashekhar (Treasurer, Panjim Smashers Club) graced the prize distribution function. The week-long Convention was held at Mapusa and Panaji.

Following are the list of prize winners: Ranked category: U-13 Boys Singles: Rudra Phadte (Winner), Vedant Chauhan (Runner-up), Pranav Naik (3rd Place); U-15 Boys: Rudra Dukle (Winner), Yash Halarnkar (Runner-up), Aashutosh Dhavalikar (3rd Place); U-17 Boys: Yash Halarnkar (Winner), Ayaan Shaikh (Runner-up), Tejas Tendulkar (3rd Place); U-19 Boys: Suresh Pujari (Winner), Sadiq Attar (Runner-up), Ritesh Borkar (3rd Place). Doubles: Sushil Nayak / Rudra Dukle (Winners), Chetan Magdum / Yash Halarnkar (Runners-up), Ayaan Shaikh / Rudra Khot (3rd Place). Men’s Singles: Floyd Araujo (Winner), Karan Dhawaaskar (Runner-up), Fredrick Fernandes and Sunny Sawant (3rd Place). Doubles:Floyd Araujo / Fredrick Fernandes (Winners), Parag Chauhan / Dattaprasad Parab (Runners-up), Sunny Sawant / Darwin Barreto (3rd place).

Non-Ranked category: Women’s Singles: Supriya Kuchelkar (Winner), Marina Albuquerque (Runners-up), Laveena Dias (3rd Place); Doubles: Vrushali Cardoso / Supriya Kuchelkar (Winners), Avita Bandodkar / Marina Albuquerque (Runners-up), Laveena Dias / Mahima (3rd Place). Mixed Doubles: Deepak Bhanushali / Pooja Raipurkar (Winners), Shashank Desai / Avita Bandodkar (Runners-up).

Related news

Sibling rivalry: One for football, divided by country

While Alison, 25, the eldest sibling swears by the defending champions, Germany, her younger brothers, Clinton (22), Eldon (20) and Simeon (16) are loyal to Portugal, Belgium and Argentina respectively Read more

Top News

Doctored video: Three fail to respond to police summons

Heard in Fatorda: Do they have links with the govt? Read more

Report on corruption in sports dept submitted

 Special audit team completes investigation into the complaint filed by peon  ball now in govt’s court Read more

Family of 9-yr old struggling to pay ` 3 lakh hospital bill

Class IV student is Goa’s first patient with Goodpasture Syndrome & 25th case in india Read more

Suspend Market Inspector, or face dharna: CMC councillors

Anger at DMA for not taking action despite a resolution being passed Read more