Monday, 18 June, 2018
   Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar assures to resolve Mayem custodian property issue raised by Freedom Fighters   Manohar Parrikar: 'Plastic Free Goa' target was delayed due to my illness, people need to be educated on garbage issue   Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar pays tribute to martyrs during Goa Revolution Day celebrations at Azad Maidan   Cops flouting rules by issuing challans for overspeeding?   Luizinho to introduce Bill that provides aid to jobless youth   First Cabinet meet today after CM’s return   Got a bank FD? Track it before it vanishes   PWD seeks nod to cut trees posing danger on NH-17A   Airport runway lights go off for third time   SGPDA fish market based on Dubai model to open on June 25

Margao CC win A Division final

16th April 2018, 03:52 Hrs

the goan I network


Margao Cricket Club defeated Karimabad by two wickets in thrilling a GCA A Division final match played at GCA Academy ground, Porvorim on Sunday. 

Electing to bat, Karimabad were reeling at 82/6 in 20 overs, when a late-order fight-back had the side post a competitive 233/8 in the allotted 42 overs. Goa player Rajshekar Harikant while playing a counter-attacking unbeaten knock of 83 (71b, 9x4, 3x6),  held the lower half together to form significant partnerships with Ninad Pawaskar (48, 55b, 6x4) of 102 runs and Nishant William (13, 2x4) and 49 runs for the seventh and eighth wickets respectively. Karan Vasodia 40 (52b, 5x4) batting at 3 was the lone batsman to click in the top-order. 

In the Margao CC attack, Aryan Mishra, Sher Bahadur Yadav and Aditya Angle all picked up two wickets each. 

In reply, Margao CC had meaningful partnerships through the innings that helped them get over the line with two wickets in hand and three balls to spare in a tense final. While no batsman made a big score, the top half made worthwhile contributions in the chase. Opener Shivam Amonkar top-scored for the eventual winners with 35, with Rishab Rathod making 33, Infancio Correira and Nikhil Naik both scoring 29 and the other opener, Prathamesh Salunke contributing 27. 

For Karimabad, Nishant William, Abhijit Palekar and Ninad Pawaskar claimed  two wickets each.