Thursday, 19 July, 2018
   Congress MLAs do not allow any proceedings at Monsoon Assembly Session 2018; continue to agitate over to prioritised discussion of "Formalin Fish" issue. Speaker Pramod Sawant adjourns the house for the fourth time til 2:30pm   Congress MLAs continue their demand to discuss the 'Formalin Fish' issue; chaotic situation leads to adjournment of Monsoon Assembly session till 12:45   Speaker Pramod Sawant again adjourns the assembly session till 12:30 pm   Chaotic situation on first day of Goa Monsoon Session 2018; speaker Pramod Sawant adjourns session till 12 noon   Goa Monsson Session 2018 beings, Congress MLAs aggressively demand discussion on Formalin Fish issue on priority. Speaker Pramod Sawant asks MLAs to discuss issue during Calling Attention   12-day Goa Monsoon Session 2018 begins today. Congress moves adjournment motion to discuss 'formalin fish' issue, likely to boycott assembly session if not given enough time for discussion.   Fish imports banned for 15 days   Valpoi students accused of stealing cell phones from vehicles   Session begins today; Parrikar braces for rough weather   New diocesan team to tone down “distasteful” sacred music   Police charge sheet Babush in rape case   Ban welcome; time now to ban outside fish agents: Churchill

Goa slump to third defeat

Mumbai easily chase down 267 in four-wicket win

Story: the | goan | 13th February 2018, 07:22 Hrs


Mumbai beat Goa by four wickets in Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day match in Chennai on Monday. Replying to Goa’s 266/8, Mumbai reached 267/6 in 46.3 overs. 

This was Goa’s third consecutive defeat in the competition after having scored two victories on the trot. Goa will take on Gujarat in their final Group ‘C’ match on Wednesday. Mumbai are placed second in the table while Goa are at fifth position.

Mumbai won the toss and opted to field. The strong Mumbai team got the breakthrough in the sixth over as Amogh Desai was caught by wicket-keeper Aditya Tare off the bowling of Shivam Malhotra for 11, leaving Goa at 18/1.

At the other end, opener Swapnil Asnodkar was going strong and stitched a 61-run stand with captain Sagun Kamat (28) for the second wicket. Swapnil was the third wicket to fall, after making 56 runs of 67 balls, including eight boundaries. 

Suyash Prabhudessai hit another strokeful half-century in the competition, with his 56 runs coming of 55 balls with five boundaries and one sixer. Snehal Kauthankar (48) and Darshan Misal (34) boosted Goa to a competitive total of 266/8 in their allotted 50 overs. Mumbai bowler Dhrumil Matkar claimed three wickets while Shubham Ranjane picked up two wickets.

In reply, Mumbai opener Ahkil Herwadkar (11) was the first batsman to be dismissed by Goa pacer Lakshay Garg, who ended up with figures of 8-0-52-3. 

Thereafter though, a solid display by the middle-order spearheaded by Surya Kumar Yadav (71), captain Aditya Tare (59), India U-19 captain Prithvi Shaw (53) and opener J Bista (44), powered Mumbai to a comfortable four-wicket victory with three-and-a half overs to spare.

Brief scores

Goa 266 for 8 in 50 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar 56, Snehal Kauthankar 48, Suyash S. Prabhudessai 56, Darshan Misal 34, Dhrumil Matkar 3 for 49) lost to Mumbai 267 for 6 in 46.3 overs (Jay Bista 44, Prithvi Shaw 53, Suryakumar Yadav 71, Aditya Tare 59, Lakshay A. Garg 3 for 52) by 4 wickets

Related news

FC Bardez rally to beat Cavelossim

pink brigade down six-man opponents 2-1 in second match; Caitano, Clinton on target Read more

Top News


Congress MLAs agitate, demand discussion of Formalin Fish Issue; Speaker adjourns the house Read more

Fish imports banned for 15 days

Spooked by formalin controversy, govt issues notification imposing a ban on storage, distribution and sale of fish brought from outside the State for consumption in Goa until Aug 3 Read more

Valpoi students accused of stealing cell phones from vehicles

Picked the art of unlocking two-wheeler seats from social media clips Read more