Monday, 15 October, 2018
   Truckers’ assn demands single-window system for passing of vehicles   Parrikar government has fooled Goans on jobs: Reginaldo   All eyes on IPB meet, projects worth Rs 800 cr at stake   Deadly end to party in Sattari, youth murdered by pals   CM Manohar Parrikar discharged from AIMS Delhi, arrives in Goa   Merger talks with alliance partners, Plan B on cards as BJP observers arrive today

Private vehicles used for business on dept radar

Story: the | goan | 08th December 2017, 07:41 Hrs

Transport Department has initiated a month-long special drive with the intention to curb the rampant violation of use of non-transport vehicles for commercial purposes.
The drive will be held from December 6 till January 5, 2018 all over Goa.
Taking serious cognizance of rise in such violations, Director of Transport Nikhil Dessai issued directions to all assistant directors to carry out special drive and pull up privately registered non-transport vehicles for commercial activities and for transportation of goods or for hire purpose to​​ transport passengers.
"It has been decided to undertake a special drive against all such violators for the month of December 2017, during which period such violations are found to be maximum due to tourism season," reads the memorandum issued by DoT Dessai.
Motor vehicles registered as non-transport vehicles but operating illegally as taxis, yellow and black as well as tourist taxis, drivers who are driving vehicles without a public service vehicle authorization and also drivers who possess a public service authorization issued by other States will be booked rigorously over the coming month.
Assistant directors have also been directed to submit an action-taken report every day over the coming month to the Chief Minster as well as the Transport Minister.

Top News

Congress fears dissolution of Assembly

Writes to the President in a bid to form government Read more

CM lands home; suspense over condition

Flown into Goa by a special flight on Sunday afternoon * Ferried in ambulance under heavy police escort to his Dona Paula residence Read more

For continuation of govt, Vijai puts onus on BJP

Says Shah spoke to him over phone, wants full term completed Read more