Sunday, 17 December, 2017
   House passes resolution against coal, legislators resolve not to allow excessive coal handling; Parrikar says rivals using coal issue to block tourists   Goa Meat Complex financially bleeding; Rs 10 cr lost in 2 years   CM expects Mandovi bridge to be done by May 31, 2018   Govt maps out 5-yr plan; eyes 100 IT start-ups   Kingfisher Villa in Candolim renamed as King's Mansion   Velim church case: Charges framed against all 22

Goa beat Chhattisgarh in BCCI League

Goa got off to a winning start in the senior women's one-dayers league with a two-wicket triumph over Chhattisgarh in ‘Plate Group C' in Kolkata on Wednesday. Captain Shikha Pandey led from the front with a four-wicket haul and an important contribution with the bat in a low-scoring match, after winning the toss and electing to field.

Story: N | RAJ PRABHU | 07th December 2017, 07:57 Hrs


Chasing the target of 105 runs, Goa seemed to be struggling all the way with the bat as they lost wickets at regular intervals. However, a crucial knock by Vanita Bhandari (18 not out off 38 balls) and her 25-run stand for the 8th wicket, with Bharati Gaonkar, who was the top-scorer with 22 runs, gave Goa the confidence to go on to win the match. It was also the best partnership of the innings. There were anxious moments once again when Bharati was dismissed with Goa still needing 12 runs to win. That is when Diksha Gawde came to the crease, and stood unbeaten making three runs of 14 deliveries. Goa thus scraped to a two-wicket victory in 42.2 overs. The chase had earlier got off to a good start with openers Nikita Malik (15) and Vinavi Gurav (12) putting on 24 runs. The other notable contribution with the bat, came from all-rounder Shikha with 13 runs before the India player was adjudged LBW to Adila Khanam, who was the most successful bowler for Chhattisgarh with a return of four wickets for 13 runs.
Earlier, Chhattisgarh could only manage to score 104/9 in their allotted 50 overs. Goa pacer Shikha and left-arm spinner Rupali Chavan both claimed four wickets each. Rupali's figures were most impressive as she gave away just eight runs.

CHHATTISGARH: M Shalini c Sunanda Yetrekar b Shikha Pandey 18, Deepika Tiwari lbw Nikita Malik 9, Shivi Pandey c Vinavi Gurav b Shikha Pandey 1, Yashi Pandey c Bharati Gaonkar b Rupali Chavan 36, Sangeeta Ramteke c Sanjula Naik b Rupali Chavan 3, Manpreet Kaur st Vinavi Gurav b Rupali Chavan 1, Shyla Alam st Vinavi Gurav b Rupali Chavan 7, Pransu Priya b Shikha Pandey 1, Adila Khanam c Shindiya Naik b Shikha Pandey 17, Shraddha Vaishnava Not Out 0, Urmila Harina Not Out 1. Extras (w-7, b-3) 10. Total (9 wickets; 50 overs) 104.
Bowling: Shikha Pandey 10-3-26-4, Nikita Malik 8 -3-21-1, Sanjula Naik 2-1-7-0, Sunanda Yetrekar 10-4-21-0, Rupali Chavan 10-6-8-4, Diksha Gawde 6-0-10-0, Vanita Bhandari 4-0-8-0.
Fall of wickets: 1-24, 2-29, 3-29, 4-41, 5-77, 6-82, 7-86, 8-86, 9-103.
GOA: Vinavi Gurav lbw Adila Khanam 12, Nikita Malik run out Pransu Priya 15, Sunanda Yetrekar c Sangeeta Ramteke b Adila Khanam 8, Shikha Pandey lbw Adila Khanam 13, Sanjula Naik c Shyla Alam b Adila Khanam 0, Tejashwini Duragad lbw Shyla Alam 2, Bharati Gaonkar c Sangeeta Ramteke b Shraddha Vaishnava 22, Shindiya Naik run out Shivi Pandey 2, Vanita Bhandari Not Out 18, Diksha Gawde not out 3. Extras (nb-1, w-9) 10. Total (8 wickets; 42.2 overs) 105.
Bowling: Pransu Priya 6-1-16-0, M Shalini 3-0-21-0, Urmila Harina 6.2-3-5-0, Adila Khanam 10-4-13-4, Shraddha Vaishnava 10-1 -24-1, Shyla Alam 6-0-22-1, Yashi Pandey 1-0-4-0.
Fall of wickets: 1-24, 2-32, 3-53, 4-53, 5-56, 6-64, 7-68, 8-93.

Top News

GST, mining effect: Govt stares at ` 13K cr debt

n Instructions issued not to report to work on weekends n Stand to lose ` 6,320 in December salary Read more