Monday, 28 May, 2018
   Mining: Ordinance option still there, says Shripad   Reginaldo rues decline in tourist footfalls, junks US trip   Locals flee after protection wall cracks at Kharewado, huge waves lash houses, sea water gushes in   With high detention rates, Std 9 a major hurdle before SSC   Cops swing into action, nab 3 MP tourists in Betalbatim rape case

In Bardez panchayats, decks cleared for most sarpanches

One term zilla panchayat member and three-time panch, Anthony Menezes is all set to be the new sarpanch of Calangute even as 28 panchayats are all set to elect new sarpanch and deputies in Bardez on Monday.

Story: the | goan | 19th June 2017, 04:28 Hrs


Former sarpanch, Rupa Chodankar will be the deputy sarpanch of Calangute.  
As reported earlier, Menezes will remain in the chair for the first term, while Shawn Martins will take over from him after completion of two years.  
In Candolim, it appears that the consensus for the sarpanch’s post has evaded the panel of 10 members of the ‘Candolim Development Front’ panel, although the choice is between Blaise Fernandes and Ramkrishna Kerkar.  
Senior panch member, Fermino Fernandes has decided to stay away from the contest due to prior commitments.  
“I am preoccupied with a lot of personal commitments and therefore wouldn’t like to be the sarpanch as of now. However, the new sarpanch will be a choice between Blaise or Ramkrishna,” said 
Fermino Fernandes.  
In Parra, Delilah Lobo is all set to be re-elected as the sarpanch of the panchayat for the second term running, while Srikrishna Nagvekar will be the sarpanch of Arpora-Nagoa.  
In Tivim, Trupti Shinde, wife of former sarpanch Tulshidas Shinde will be elected as the new sarpanch, while outgoing sarpanch, Shivdas Kambli will be her deputy.  
While Tivim MLA Nilkant Halarnkar holds sway over the members of the Tivim Panchayat, the remaining seven panchayats – Colvale, Sirsaim, Camurlim, Pirna, Revora, Nadora and Assonora – are with former BJP MLA 
Kiran Kandolkar.  
“We have unanimously decided on the sarpanchas in all the seven panchayats. We will announce the names on Monday,” Kandolkar said.  
In Saligao, Lafira Gomes, daughter of former sarpanch Lucas Remedios is tipped to be the new sarpanch of Saligao, while Piedade Almeida will be the sarpanch of Nerul Panchayat.  
Shailendra Parulekar, Premanand Kochrekar, Pramila Govekar and Chaitali Morajkar are expected to be elected as sarpanchas of Reis Magos, Sangolda, Pilerne-Marra and Guirim panchayats respectively.  
“All panch members belonging to political parties of different ideologies have come together in the interest of developing the village. The decision on sarpanchas election has been unanimous,” said Housing Board Minister, 
Jayesh Salgaonkar.  
In Siolim-Marna, Fermina Fernandes, wife of former sarpanch Sylvester Fernandes, is expected to be elected as new sarpanch of the village, while Adv Reshal Arporkar is tipped to be the new sarpanch of 
Oxel Panchayat.  
Surath Vernekar, who defeated five-term sarpanch Rama Parab, will be the deputy sarpanch in the village.  
In Verla-Canca, seasoned politician Milton Marques will be the new sarpanch, while Vrushali Arlekare is expected to be the new deputy.  
Senior panch members Jallindar Gaonkar and Nilesh Vaigankar are expected to be elected sarpanch of Assagao and Sodiem panchayats 
In Aldona, new faces Gajanan Haldankar and Priyanka Pinto are expected to be elected as sarpanch and deputy sarpanch in the village.  
Sources said Aldona MLA Glenn Ticlo has given a go-ahead to the duo as most of the elected panchas are 
new members.  
Similarly, the choice of sarpanchas has been unanimously decided in the panchayats of Moira, Ucassaim-Paliem-Punola and Pomburpa-Olaulim.