Thursday, 26 April, 2018
   Anti-RP21 blood boils before Margao meet   Sawaikar seeks Central help for release of Goan youth   Storm over plans to discharge treated sewage water into sea   Goa Dairy chief faces no-trust motion today   Transportation of ore: Goa Foundation files rejoinder   Government reshuffles several senior bureaucrats

Instability hits Cuncolim civic body; Lavita faces no-confidence motion

The ghost of instability has come back once again to haunt the 12-member Cuncolim Municipal Council.

21st March 2017, 07:02 Hrs
Dy Chairperson Moraes survives on Monday

the goan I network

In an interesting development, Cuncolim Municipal Vice-Chairperson Mario Moraes has survived the no confidence motion tabled against him by seven members of the 12-member body; however, in another development, seven members of the civic body have tabled a no confidence motion against Chairperson Lavita Mascarenhas - the second such motion against her in less than a month.   
At a meeting held on Monday, the motion against the Vice-Chairperson Mario Moraes was defeated by 6 votes to 5. One member abstained.   
Cuncolim Municipal Chief Officer, Shankar Gaonkar informed that the motion tabled against Moraes has been defeated. He said that Moraes continues to remain in 
office with the trust motion defeated.   
In another development, seven members of the civic body have signed a notice of no confidence against Lavita Mascarenhas.   
Gaonkar informed that he has verified the signatures of the seven signatories to the motion, including Polita Carneiro, Premdeep Desai, Shashank Desai, Succorina Coutinho, Panzy Coutinho, Mario Moraes and Udesh Gaonkar. 
After verification, the Chief officer has dispatched a report to the office of the Director of Municipal Administration.   
The seven signatories had claimed in the no trust motion that the chairperson has allegedly failed to discharge her duties and responsibilities conferred upon her by the Goa Municipalities Act and that she does not take into confidence the other councillors in matters of administration and important issues pertaining to the council’s day-to-day functioning.   
Interestingly, an attempt made by Moraes and his group to dislodge Mascarenhas had come a cropper last month after she was bailed out by the BJP-backed members in the civic body.   
It willbe interesting to see if  the Chairperson Lavita Mascarenhas will be saved by the same members again or whether they will opt for a fresh face at the helm. Lavita expressed confidence that she will defeat the motion again.

Related news

Digambar showed undue favour to Hede: SIT chargesheet

Then Mines minister, retd senior geologist allegedly condoned the delay of renewal of mining lease without having any authority and in contravention of the act Read more

Margao civic body presents `4 crore surplus budget

Upkeep of century-old heritage municipal building, disaster management are key points in estimates Read more